[mb-style] Does cover beat website?
Frederic Da Vitoria
davitofrg at gmail.com
Wed Jul 9 07:49:53 UTC 2008
On Wed, Jul 9, 2008 at 7:54 AM, Z <johnnyooh at gmail.com> wrote:
> I've just realized I send this to the wrong list (should I send it to user
> list?)
Yes, but nobody saw it, so shhh!
I this case I am not sure the website is really the artist's, I believe this
>> is the editor's website.
>
>
> Mh, it says official website on the site.
>
In France, the artist has between 3% and 10% of the price, the editor has
between 60% and 75% (depending on wether we are considering downloadable
music or CDs). The editor has clearly the right to say his website is
"official", even if he barely asked the artist's opinion, but this doesn't
make the website ArtistIntent.
For the first track, I'd stick to the cover, because I believe that the
>> website forgot the brackets. For the second, I don't know. Only the artist
>> would know (this means either find a written comment from the artist about
>> this album or this track, or even writing a mail to him). For the third
>> track, I'd definitely vote NO, since the new version isn't closer to the
>> editor's source (I see "Vamonos pal sur" on
>> http://www.jsabina.com/disco05/disco.asp , not "Vámonos pa'l sur").
>
>
> This is probably an interpretation of the editor, "pal" is a contraction of
> "para el" (it would be something like saying let's go south instead of let's
> go to the south, but without changing the meaning) so it's not wrong to
> think the apostrophe should go after the a, pa' is a common contraction of
> para. Now that I think about it this may be the right move.
>
>
>> BTW, there are several other differences in accents between
>> http://www.jsabina.com/disco05/disco.asp and the cover, which is best? I
>> don't know spanish, but I have a hunch the website is a little sloppy, which
>> would mean it is not a reliable reference.
>
>
> I don't see the differences, but usually the one with the most accents is
> right.
I meant there are other differences in accents, but each time, the CD cover
has more accents than the website.
> I don't trust teh cover that much since one of them looks fake so I'm not
> sure if I can trust the other one.
>
You are right, they could be fakes, but since you have 2 different sources
with clearly different scans of elaborate page designs (with colors,
artistic fonts, drawings, barcodes), I believe they are authentic. I guess
http://covertarget.com/si.php?cat=1&id=189186&sid= was the original (the
spine matches the cover itself and the drawing and the fonts seem more
natural) while http://cover-paradise.to/?Module=ViewElement&ID=186946 would
be a reissue with the same barcode but with a slightly modified cover
design.
--
Frederic Da Vitoria
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: http://lists.musicbrainz.org/pipermail/musicbrainz-style/attachments/20080709/eacf3e4c/attachment.htm
More information about the Musicbrainz-style
mailing list